Monday, March 02, 2015

Hustle and Bustle

I have listened to this album 7 times and my pool playing hasn't improved at all. I want my money back!

Groove Sound - Learn To Hustle GS1001 (1976)

Side one has a Jeff & Jack Shelley guided tour to shaking one's booty and side two has the music in which to get out there and dance.
Learn to do the American Hustle, The Walk, Latin Hustle, Bus Stop and the Foxy Trot Hustle.

Side One
1 The American Hustle 4:25
2 The Walk 4:08
3 Latin Hustle 4:25
4 Bus Stop 3:05
5 Foxy Trot Hustle 4:29

Side Two
Dance Music
1 Once Again (American Hustle) 6:48
2 Can You Dig It (The Walk) 4:21
3 I Will Follow Him (Bus Stop) 3:31
4 Bad Situation (Foxy Hustle) (Latin Hustle) 5:02 

Monday, February 16, 2015

This Is An LP, and You're Not

Athletes want to be rappers, rappers want to be actors, actors want to be singers, singers want to be athletes.

Here's Chevy proving that he can put together (with help from Tom Scott) a competent and mildly-amusing record album.
Rappers' Plight is IMHO the highlight.
Side One
1. Nat'l Anthem
2. Short People
3. Never Never Gonna Sing For You
4. I Shot the Sheriff
5. Let It Be
Side Two
6. Love to Have My Baby
7. Sixteen Tons
8. Wild Thing
9. Rappers' Plight

Friday, February 13, 2015

Kihn You Believe It?

For a while in the late 70's/early 80's Greg Kihn seemed like he might be one of the saviors of powerpop. It didn't quite work out that way, but this is still a fairly interesting interview from 1985.
(He's also a better-than-average novelist, and apparently a pretty decent person, as well).

[Is that Andy Griffith doing the AT&T commercial?]

Much like the Beach Boys version of this show previously posted, this disc came into my possession during my brief early 90's sales gig at Blount County's 1470 WMDR-AM, which was at that time running an easy listening format but which had previously been top-40 as "The Music Doctor". The top-40 format had replaced an earlier easy listening format when the station dropped its original call letters of WEAG (on which we listened to the Jerry Collins Show every morning on the way to school in the 70's in my Dad's '72 Impala with the one oval speaker in the dash).
Greg Kihn - The Hot Ones 3-25-85

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Over Hill and Vale

Whiter than white, Jerry Vale covers Bobby Sherman's "Seattle" and makes Bobby sound like James Brown. And what's with that kinda creepy title?

(This is a vinyl rip, but I liked the 8-track pic so I used it instead.)

Jerry Vale - Where's The Playground Susie? Columbia ‎– CS 9838  1969

A1     Traces    
A2     Seattle    
A3     Where's The Playground Susie?    
A4     Galveston    
A5     Let It Be Me    
A6     Goodnight My Love    
B1     Happy Heart    
B2     My Way    
B3     The Way It Used To Be    
B4     You Gave Me A Mountain    
B5     To Know You Is To Love You

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Moldy Oldies

WCBS-FM was one of the first notable oldies stations in the country, with the format dating back to July 7, 1972. Except for a brief unsuccessful foray into the "Jack" format, it has remained mostly oldies ever since.

The station has over the years released a number of oldies compilations focusing on various decades. Unfortunately the CD reissues have tended to differ from the vinyl releases.

WCBS FM101 History Of Rock The 50s part 1 (1985)

A1     –Bill Haley & His Comets-(We're Gonna) Rock Around The Clock    
A2     –The Penguins-Earth Angel    
A3     –Little Richard-Long Tall Sally    
A4     –The Harp-Tones-A Sunday Kind Of Love    
A5     –The Diamonds-Little Darlin'    
A6     –The Platters-The Great Pretender    
B1     –The Dell-Vikings-Come Go With Me    
B2     –The Five Satins-In The Still Of The Night    
B3     –Larry Williams-Short Fat Fannie    
B4     –The Dells-Oh What A Night    
B5     –Buddy Holly And The Crickets-That'll Be The Day    
B6     –The Mello Kings-Tonite Tonite    
C1     –The Big Bopper-Chantilly Lace    
C2     –The Paragons-Florence    
C3     –Danny And The Juniors-At The Hop    
C4     –The Danleers-One Summer Night    
C5     –The Silhouettes-Get A Job    
C6     –Tommy Edwards-It's All In The Game    
D1     –Dion And The Belmonts-A Teenager In Love    
D2     –The Elegants-Little Star    
D3     –The Skyliners-Since I Don't Have You    
D4     –Huey "Piano" Smith-Rockin' Pneumonia & The Boogie Woogie Flu    
D5     –Wilbert Harrison-Kansas City    
D6     –The Crests-16 Candles

Monday, January 19, 2015

Pop Goes The Jazz

Parts 6-10 of a 10-disc set (I don't have the first half). This series was part of an interesting lawsuit in 1968.

J Jay Frankel Presents The Worlds Greatest Music Series Pop Jazz (Part+Two)
1962 Artia-Parliament Industries WGM-2B

Disc 6 A: Sarah Vaughan/B: Billy Eckstein
Disc 7  Count Basie
Disc 8: Maynard Ferguson/B: Maynard Ferguson; Johnny Richards; Machito
Disc 9 A: Morgan, Timmons, and Shorter; Woody Herman with Nate Adderly; Morgan, Mobley and Fuller; John Coltrane Quartet/B: Illinois Jacquet; Phineas Newborn; Candido
Disc 10 Chris Condor with Maynard Ferguson; Joe Williams; Joe Williams and Sarah Vaughan/B: Dinah Washington; Duke Ellington and Louis Armstrong; Joe Williams with Lambert, Kendricks, and Ross

Sarah Vaughan – In Other Words; You Turned the Tables on Me; Trees; Hands Across the Table; Ain’t No Use; Sentimental Mood

Billy Eckstine – I’m Beginning to See the Light; Jelly Jelly; I Want a Little Girl; Misty; Blue, the Mother of Sin

Count Basie – One O’Clock Jump; Blues in Hoss’ Flat; Who Me; Rat Race; Her Royal Highness; Jumpin at the Woodside; Kansas City Shout; Lester Leaps In; Mutt and Jeff; Vine Street Rumble; Counter Block 

Maynard Ferguson – The Pharoah; Pretty Little Neida; New Blue; Humbug; Motherless Child

Johnny Richards – La Pecadora
Machito – Bacao

Morgan, Timmons and Shorter – Minor Strain
Woody Herman with Nat Adderley – Lullaby of Birdland
Mobley, Morgan and Fuller – Jamph

John Coltrane Quartet – One and Four

Illinois Jacquet – Teddy Bear

Phineas Newborn – Blues Theme for Left Hand Only

Candido – Conga Soul

Chris Connor with Maynard Ferguson – Send for Me; Can’t Get Out of this Mood

Joe Williams – Ain’t Misbehavin; Sweet Sue

Joe Williams and Sarah Vaughn – Teach Me Tonight; If I Were a Bell

Dinah Washington – Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t; Where Are You; You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You

Duke Ellington and Louis Armstrong – Mood Indigo; Duke’s Place

Joe Williams with Lambert, Hendricks and Ross – Rusty Dusty

Wednesday, January 07, 2015

Night Time is the Dwight Time

Here's a five disc box set of material from the Warner Brothers catalog going as far back as "C'mon Everybody". No need to list the tracks - you'll know everything here. A nice semi-surprise was the appearance of the Dwight Twilley Band.

 Warner Brothers - Cruisin' - Various Artists [1984] Sessions Records