Monday, October 12, 2015

Folk You

A short 1965 folkie cash-in album produced for Philco* by Columbia Special Products, with some well-known artists and a few lesser-knows, including The Back Porch Majority, a sort-of farm team for the The New Christy Minstrels. Luboff (and his choir) is kind of the ringer in this set.

When We're Together...With The Folk Sound Columbia Special Products ‎– CSP 280-S

A1 The New Christy Minstrels - Kisses Sweeter Than Wine    
A2  The Brothers Four - San Francisco Bay Blues    
A3 Bob Dylan - Mr. Tambourine Man    
A4 Norman Luboff - Red River Shore    
A5 The Village Stompers - Lemon Tree    
B1 Johnny Cash - Don't Think Twice, It's All Right    
B2 The Back Porch Majority - Ol' Dan Tucker    
B3 Jimmy Dean - Shenandoah    
B4 The Banjo Barons - Yellow Rose Of Texas    
B5 Pete Seeger - This Land Is Your Land

*I don't know that it was actually the case, but I'd like to think that this album was given away with the purchase of a finely-finished hardwood Philco console stereo.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

According to this Amazon reviewer, you're pretty close in your assumption:

"You got this little gem in the mid-60's if you bought a Philco record player. I'm privileged to actually own my parent's original Philco record player, a Philco Q1562 from early 1967 making this release around 45 years old." (2012)

7:57 AM  
Blogger senormedia said...


9:34 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home