Thursday, January 16, 2014

Mercury Rising

 Mercury shows off their big band, classical and jazz recordings with this extensive two-disc sampler (though some of it is just MOR pop). Give them credit - Mercury had some of the best-sounding recordings of the era.

  1. Mama Inez (2:58)--XAVIER CUGAT
  2. It's Been a Long Long Time (2:24)--BROOK BENTON
  3. The Petite Waltz (2:11)--DAVID CARROLL
  4. (How Much Is) That Doggie in the Window (2:58)--PATTI PAGE
  5. Autumn Leaves (2:38)--JAN AUGUST
  6. I Can't Believe That You're in Love with Me (2:40)--DINAH WASHINGTON
  7. Parade of the Wooden Soldiers (2:30)--RICHARD HAYMAN
  8. Marcheta (2:45)--THE CLEBANOFF STRINGS
  9. Misty (2:59)--SARAH VAUGHAN
  10. Theme from "The Apartment" (3:09)--JOSE MELIS
  11. On the Street Where You Live (2:41)--BILLY ECKSTINE
  12. I Have But One Heart (O' Marenariello) (2:53)--DICK CONTINO
  13. Moaning (3:02)--QUINCY JONES
  14. My Prayer (2:45)--THE PLATTERS
  15. You Can't Be True Dear (2:37)--EDDIE LAYTON
  16. Tender Years (2:18)--GEORGE JONES
  17. I Get a Funny Feeling (1:58)--GRIFF WILLIAMS
  18. I'll Save the Last Dance for You (2:13)--DAMITA JO
  19. Five Foot Two Eyes of Blue (Has Anybody Seen My Girl) (2:30)--ED REED + THE RIVERBOAT FIVE
  20. Fever (3:14)--CLYDE McPHATTER
  21. Giselle (Excerpt) (0:55)--LONDON SYMPHONY, Fistoulari
  22. Lucia Di Lammermoor (3:46)--ORCHESTRA OF LA SCALA, MILAN, conducted by Nino Sanzogno
  23. Piano Concerto No. 1 in B Flat Minor (Tchaikovsky) (6:34)--LONDON SYMPHONY, Menges + BYRON JANIS piano
  24. Chorale No. 3 in A Minor (Franck) (1:40)--MARCEL DUPRE, organist
  25. Suite from Lulu (2:46)--LONDON SYMPHONY, conducted by Antal Dorati + HELGA PILACZYK, soprano
  26. Manhattan Beach (2:02)--EASTMAN WIND ENSEMBLE, conducted by Frederick Fennell
  27. Little Blue Devil (3:12)--MINNEAPOLIS SYMPHONY, conducted by Antal Dorati
  28. Symphony In D Minor (Franck) (1:52)--DETROIT SYMPHONY, conducted by Paul Paray
  29. The Young Princess and Jason (3:03)--EASTMAN-ROCHESTER ORCHESTRA, conducted by Howard Hanson
  30. Ballet Music From Rosamunde (2:09)--MINNEAPOLIS SYMPHONY, conducted by Stanislaw Skrowaczewski


Post a Comment

<< Home