Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Report from the war zone

Here's a wounded veteran of the hi-fi format wars - the 7" 45 RPM "album" set.
This set is on beautiful translucent red vinyl.

Robert Shaw Conducts Christmas Hymns And Carols Volume II 45 RPM Album

Robert Shaw conducts Christmas hymns and carols, vol. 2
The Robert Shaw Chorale – Robert Shaw, dir.
RCA Victor « Red Seal Records » WDM 1711 [45rpm x 4, mono, 17cm]
RCA Victor « Red Seal Records » LM 1711 [LP, mono]
RCA « Victrola » VIC 1509


  1. Band 1
      Trad., English
    1. I saw three ships

    2. Trad., German
    3. O Tannenbaum (in German & English)

    4. Guillaume Costeley
    5. Allons, gay, gay bergeres

    6. Trad., English
    7. The holly and the ivy
  2. Band 2
      Trad., Spanish
    1. Fum, fum, fum (in English)
    2. Hacia belé va un borrilo
    3. Ya viene la vieja
    4. La virgen lava pañales
  3. Band 3
      Kentucky mountain ballad
    1. The cherry tree carol

    2. Negro spiritual
    3. Mary had a baby

    4. Trad., Lullaby, English, 16th c.
    5. So Blest a Sight
  4. Band 4
      Anon., adapt. from italian carol
    1. How unto Bethlehem

    2. William Billings (edited by Oliver Daniel)
    3. A virgin unspotted

    4. Trad., English
    5. The twelve days of Christmas

  5. Band 5
      Anon., arr. J.M. Neale
    1. Good King Wenceslas

    2. English secular carol
    3. The boar's head carol

    4. Trad,. German
    5. Christ was born on Christmas day

    6. Trad. English / Francis Chesterton
    7. How far is it to Bethlehem
  6. Band 6
      Trad., French
    1. March of the kings

    2. Anon.
    3. Here, mid the ass and the oxen mild

    4. Provencal carol / Nicolas Saboly
    5. Touro-louro-louro
  7. Band 7
      Trad., Spanish
    1. Carol of the birds

    2. Tomás Luis de Vittoria
    3. O magnum mysterium
  8. Band 8
      English tune "Greensleeves" / W.C. Dix
    1. What child is this

    2. Trad., French / William Morris
    3. Masters in this hall

    4. Johann Sebastian Bach: Christmas Oratorio
    5. Break forth, o beauteous, heavenly light

    The Robert Shaw Chorale

    Evelyn Aring (soprano), Yvonne Ciannella (soprano), Marjean Moore (soprano), Louise Marale (soprano), Lois Winter (soprano), Florence Kopleff (contralto), Russell Hammer (tenor). Clayton Krehbiel (tenor), Russell Oberlin (tenor), Farrold Stephens (tenor), Walrer Galjour (baritone), Calvin Marsh (baritone), Thonas Pyle (baritone), Peter Maravell (bass)
    Robert Shaw, cond.

    Recording site and date:
    Unknown (Manhattan Center, New York City, USA ?) [ca 1952];
    Rel.: 1952 (RCA), 1970 (Victrola)

    The 45rpm release includes four discs: Nos 49-3947, 49-3948, 49-3949, 49-3950.
    Also called "Merry Christmas from Robert Shaw", "Christmas Greetings from Robert Shaw" and in 1970, "Now We Go A-Caroling: A Christmas Sing-In". A subset of this recording, with some additional tracks, was released as "Songs for Christmas Time". This recording is included in the Musical Heritage Society/BMG 1994 re-issue called "Christmas with the Robert Shaw Chorale". (from Robert Shaw Discography:


Anonymous Narada said...

Robert Shaw band 2 track 4

La virgen lava pañales

"Where odd audio errata, ephemeralities, and nonsense occasionally collide with actual music for serious contemplation. Trouble is - I'm not saying what is which."

This track La Vigen has never been bettered and is always performed in an overblown (eg. large orchestra, massed choir, OTT production) manner which kills off the songs original and powerful shem

So as you say 'serious audio contemplation' indeed. Some info about the rip would be interesting. All the Shaw RCA Christmass master tapes were revisited for the reissue by Arkiv Music in 1994 - Im trying to track down a Euro side copy to supplement my old vinyl version


4:56 AM  
Blogger senormedia said...

I ripped it on whatever turntable I was using last year through a Presonus Firepod A/D converter via firewire and into Adobe Audition 1.0. I'm fairly certain it was saved as a 320 Mps mp3 file.

11:17 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Have it on Long Play

1:56 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home